The History of The Christchurch Club
Twelve graziers founded The Christchurch Club in 1856 as a gentlemen’s retreat in town. It was called a 'Club' from the beginning and soon became one in every sense of the word. Its first premises were in a leased building in Durham street, and the present clubhouse was built in 1861/ 62 to the design of Benjamin Mountfort.
Mountfort is renowned as the architect responsible for most of the stone gothic revival buildings which are a hallmark of central Christchurch. Over the years the building has being altered numerous times, but the original timber Italianate design of its Latimer Square and Worcester Street frontages have been carefully preserved.
The building is protected as a Category 1 Historic Place.
The Club Today
Having evolved considerably in recent years, the Club provides a timeless elegance and a warm inviting atmosphere for a diverse group of men and women.
Members enjoy many other benefits, including reciprocal rights to over 100 Clubs throughout the world.
The Christchurch Club remains committed to our traditional values, but embraces new opportunities to complement our distinguished history by continuing to draw the very best membership to the Club well into the future.